Welcoming to Frankfurt Women's Film Days 2018: Women's Rights and feminist Filmworking 1910-2017


GB 1910, P Pathé Frères Cinema, Print b/w, 35mm, 3 min, silent, BFI National Archive

This was one of the earliest mass marches organised by the suffrage movement, and up to 15,000 women marched from the Embankment to the Albert Hall to hear speeches from Christabel Pankhurst and other suffragette leaders (Ros Cranston, Make More Noise! Suffragettes in Silent Film).


Chair:
Jutta Brückner, Berlin
Laura Mulvey, London

The film programme will be followed by a reception.


A programme that shows the awakening and revolt of women over seven decades of the 20th century. It begins with documents of the protest action that cost a suffragette her life. In 1913, Emily Davison threw herself at one of the king’s horses at the Epson Derby and grabbed its reins. Two film teams were present. The never-ending line of suffragettes with banners and sympathisers was also documented. A leap in time: the feminists of the 1970s tune in to the newsreel medium of their time – a London series, Hang on a Minute, of which we screen one story. Next comes a work of docufiction: a presenter interrupts the usual flow of news on German television with announcements from the underground of women’s lives. A protest against the female role. In Home Movie, Jan Oxenberg uses amateur film to show unconventionality already presenting itself in a little girl, a college student trying in vain to fit into the heterosexual mould, and the freedom that the 70’s lesbian and gay movement gave her. At Land, on the other hand, portrays emancipation of the female imagination – and for women, as Noll Brinckmann wrote in 1984, “the free flow of imagination is a breakthrough of a completely different dimension than it is for men”.
The suffragette movement was sustained by middle-class women; rebellion in the working class took a different shape. Strikes by women workers got the attention of feminist film work in the 70s. In 1969, Madeline Anderson made a documentary film commissioned by Hospital Workers Union Local 1199, about a strike by more than 400 black hospital and nursing home nurses in Charleston, South Carolina. The strike lasted 100 days, and Coretta Scott King supported it with a memorable speech. Anderson on her film I Am Somebody: “I knew that the obstacles that were before me were based on gender, race and politics... I tried to make a film that reflected my experience through their eyes.” Now! emphasizes the relevance of the topics that women raise their voices about. It’s a fast-paced found-footage film featuring images of racist violence and the struggles of the African-American civil rights movement. Lena Horne’s stirring song erupts from these struggles, setting the course for freedom.


GB 1913, P Topical Budget, Print b/w, 35mm, 5 min, silent, BFI National Archive

The cameramen of Topical Company were filming this famous annual horse race on 4 June 1913 when suffragette Emily Davison ran in front of the king's horse. Not noticing the severity of the event, they continued to film the day’s event. [...] Four days later, when Davison died of her wounds, the newsreels responded by reissuing the footage (Holly Hyams, Make More Noise! Suffragettes in Silent Film).


GB 1913, P Pathé Frères Cinema, Print b/w, 35mm, 2 min, silent, BFI National Archive

Emily Davison stepped out in front of the King's horse at the Derby of 1913 and died of her injuries four days later. Her funeral in London at St George's, Bloomsbury, attracts a huge crowd of mourners including suffragettes and suffragists in full regalia. (Bryony Dixon, Make More Noise! Suffragettes in Silent Film)


GB 1984, D Lis Rhodes, Joanna Davis, SC Lis Rhodes, M Lindsay Cooper, P Four Corners Films, Cast Lily Greenham, Print b/w, 16mm, 3 min, Cinenova Distribution

Lis Rhodes' poem dwells on the moments before a political thought is translated into a distinctive physical organisation such as the women who surrounded the Greenham missile base.
One of thirteen 1 minute films which grew out of a series of short poems written by Lis Rhodes, reflecting on the traditional patterns of oppression in women's lives (pornography, violence, nuclear weapons) and the many forms that resistance takes. Made with the artist Jo Davis and commissioned by Channel 4 for television broadcast. (Catalogue Luxonline)


D 1970, D, SC, E, Cast Christiane Gehner, C Christian Bau, S Klaus Wyborny, Print colour, DCP from 16mm, 10 min, German OV with English SUB, KurzFilmVerleih Hamburg


US 1975, D, SC, E Jan Oxenberg, C La Sylvia, Joan Weidman, Jan Oxenberg, Donna Deitch, M Debra Quinn, S Judith Dancoff, Print colour, 16mm, 12 min, English OV with electronic German SUB, Cinenova Distribution

The most sustained use of an ironic interplay between image and voice is Jan Oxenberg’s Home Movie, in which the film-maker’s voice interrogates her parents' old home movie footage of her […] the voice over muses. The voice stresses the contrast between the ‚normal‘ exterior and the felt inner ‚difference‘, but we may perceive that difference in the little girl’s behavior.  […] she looks out to the camera with a pugnacious expression that seems to suggest that she is not the feminine little thing she and her parents were trying to put on the film. (Richard Dyer, Now You See It, Second Edition 2003)


US 1944, D, SC Maya Deren, C Hella Heyman, Alexander Hammid, Cast Maya Deren, John Cage, Alexander Hammid, Hella Heyman, Parker Tyler, Print b/w, 16mm, 15 min, silent, Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V.

One aspect in which the film is completely successful, it seems to me, is that the techniques, though complicated, are executed with such quiet subtlety that one is unaware of the strangeness of the film while one looks at it. It is only afterwards, as after a dream, that one realizes how strange were the events and is surprised by the seeming normalcy of them while they are occurring. (Maya Deren)


US 1969, D, E Madeline Anderson, P Madeline Anderson, American Foundation of Non-Violence, Cast Coretta Scott King, Ralph Abernathy, Leon Davis, Andrew Young, Print colour, 16mm, 28 min, English OV with electronic German SUB, Icarus Film

In 1969, Madeline Anderson was commissioned by the Hospital Workers Union Local 1199 to record a strike at the Medical College Hospital of the University of South Carolina in Charleston. The striking employees, who aimed to receive union recognition and a fair wage, numbered over 400, all but 12 of them women and all of them black. The resulting documentary film, I Am Somebody (1969), has the distinction of being the first half-hour documentary film directed by an African-American, unionized, female director. (Stacey Doyle, Black Film Center/Archive: Madeline Anderson & I Am Somebody, 2013)


CUB 1965, D, SC Santiago Álvarez, C Pepín Rodríguez, Alberto Hernández, E Norma Torrado, Idalberto Gálvez, M Lena Horne, S Adalberto Jiménez, P ICAIC, Print b/w, 35mm, 6 min, Spanish OV, Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V.

With Now! cinema seemed to have found a brand new idiom overnight. The music, the only sound in Alvárez’s film, was by Lena Horne, illustrated by images of the fight against racial discrimination in the US, photos of Lyndon B. Johnson, newsreel features on police violence, comic strip pictures and footage of Black Panther demonstrations. (Alexander Kluge, Catalogue DOK Leipzig, 2012)


Pupille – Kino in der Uni

Begrüßung zu den Frankfurter Frauen Film Tagen 2018: Frauenrechte und feministische Filmarbeit 1910-2017


GB 1910, P Pathé Frères Cinema, Kopie s/w, 35mm, 3 min, stumm, BFI National Archive

Es war einer der frühesten Massenmärsche, der von der Frauenwahlrechtsbewegung organisiert wurde. Bis zu 15.000 Frauen marschierten vom Embankment zur Royal Albert Hall, um die Reden von Christabel Pankhurst und anderen Anführerinnen der Suffragetten zu hören. (Ros Cranston, Make More Noise! Suffragettes in Silent Film)


Es sprechen
Jutta Brückner, Berlin
Laura Mulvey, London

Im Anschluss an das Filmprogramm Empfang


Ein Programm, das Aufbruch und Aufruhr von Frauen über sieben Dekaden des 20. Jahrhunderts hin zeigt. Es beginnt mit den Dokumenten der Protestaktion einer Suffragette, die dabei ihr Leben verlor: 1913 warf sich Emily Davison auf dem Epson Derby einem Pferd des Königs entgegen, griff ihm in die Zügel. Gleich zwei Filmteams waren zugegen. Auch der nicht enden wollende Zug von Suffragetten mit Transparenten, von Sympathisantinnen und Sympathisanten wurde dokumentiert. – Ein Zeitsprung: Die Feministinnen der 1970er Jahre schalten sich in das Newsreelmedium ihrer Zeit ein. In London mit einer Serie, Hang on a Minute, aus der wir einen Beitrag zeigen. Es folgt ein Dokufiction, eine Ansagerin unterbricht den üblichen Nachrichtenfluß im Deutschen Fernsehen mit Meldungen aus dem Untergrund des Frauenlebens. Aufbegehren gegen die weibliche Rolle. Mit Amateurfilmaufnahmen zeigt Jan Oxenberg in Home Movie, wie sich Unangepasstheit schon beim kleinen Mädchen zeigt, wie die Collegestudentin vergeblich versucht, sich in das heterosexuelle Schema einzupassen. Und welche Befreiung am Ende die Lesben- und Schwulenbewegung der 70er Jahre brachte. At Land wiederum stellt eine Emanzipation weiblicher Imagination dar, und, wie Christine N. Brinckmann 1984 schrieb: für Frauen ist „die freie Bewegung der Imagination ein Durchbruch von der ganz anderen Dimension als für Männer“. 
Die Suffragettenbewegung wurde von bürgerlichen Frauen getragen. Eine andere Gestalt hatte das Aufbegehren in der Arbeiterklasse. Arbeiterinnen-Streiks erlangten in den 70ern die Aufmerksamkeit feministischer Filmarbeit. 1969 bereits drehte Madeline Anderson im Auftrag der Hospital Workers Union Local 1199 den Dokumentarfilm über einen Streik von mehr als 400 schwarzen Krankenhaus- und Pflegeheimschwestern in Charleston, South Carolina. Er dauerte 100 Tage und wurde von Coretta Scott King mit einer eindrucksvollen Rede unterstützt. Anderson zu ihrem Film I Am Somebody: „I knew that the obstacles that were before me were based on gender, race and politics... I tried to make a film that reflected my experience through their eyes.“ Die Relevanz dessen, dass Frauen ihre Stimme erheben, bringt Now! zum Ausdruck. Ein rasanter Foundfootagefilm, mit Bildern von rassistischer Gewalt und den Kämpfen der Schwarzen Bürgerrechtsbewegung, aus denen Lena Hornes mitreißender Gesang ausbricht, zur Befreiung aufbricht


GB 1913, P Topical Budget, Kopie s/w, 35mm, 5 min, stumm, BFI National Archive

Die Kameramänner der Topical Filmgesellschaft filmten dieses berühmte, jährlich stattfindende Pferderennen am 4. Juni 1913, als die Suffragette Emily Davison vor das Pferd König George lief. Ohne den Ernst dieses Vorfalls zu bemerken, filmten die Kameramänner die Ereignisse des Tages weiter. [...] Vier Tage später, nachdem Davison ihren Verletzungen erlegen war, reagierten die Wochenschauen mit der erneuten Veröffentlichung des Filmmaterials. (Holly Hyams, Make More Noise! Suffragettes in Silent Film)


GB 1913, P Pathé Frères Cinema, Kopie s/w, 35mm, 2 min, stumm, BFI National Archive

Während des Epsom Derbys im Jahr 1913 trat Emily Davison vor das königliche Pferd und starb vier Tage später an ihren Verletzungen. Zu ihrer Begräbnisfeier in der Londoner Kirche St. George’s Bloomsbury erschienen zahlreiche Trauernde, darunter durch ihre Aufmachung unverkennbar Suffragetten und Stimmrechtler. (Bryony Dixon, Make More Noise! Suffragettes in Silent Film)


GB 1984, R Lis Rhodes, Joanna Davis, B Lis Rhodes, M Lindsay Cooper, P Four Corners Films, D Lily Greenham, Kopie s/w, 16mm, 3 min, Cinenova Distribution

Lis Rhodes Gedicht widmet sich den Momenten vor der Umsetzung eines politischen Gedankens in eine konkrete physische Aktion, am Beispiel der Frauen, die den Raketenstützpunkt in Greenham belagerten.
Dies ist einer von dreizehn einminütigen Filmen, die sich aus einer Reihe kurzer Gedichte von Lis Rhodes entwickelten. Sie reflektieren die traditionellen Unterdrückungsmuster im Leben der Frauen (Pornografie, Gewalt, Atomwaffen) und die vielfältigen Formen des Widerstands dagegen. Die Filmreihe entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit der Künstlerin Jo Davis und wurde vom Fernsehsender Channel 4 in Auftrag gegeben. (Katalog Luxonline)


D 1970, R, B, S, D Christiane Gehner, K Christian Bau, T Klaus Wyborny, Kopie Farbe, DCP von 16mm, 10 min, dt. OV mit engl. UT, KurzFilmVerleih Hamburg

Die spätere Fotochefin des Spiegels spielt in ihrem Kurzfilm Programmhinweise eine adrette Fernsehansagerin, die beim Moderieren plötzlich über Orgasmusschwierigkeiten und ihr persönliches Unglück als Frau in einer männerdominierten Gesellschaft spricht: „Ich weiß nicht, ob ich mich nicht doch lieber den Ansprüchen der Männer fügen soll, denn schlimmer als die Unterdrückung ist die Isolation.“ (Christoph Twickel, Die Zeit, Nr.41/2017)


US 1975, R, B, S Jan Oxenberg, K La Sylvia, Joan Weidman, Jan Oxenberg, Donna Deitch, M Debra Quinn, T Judith Dancoff, Kopie Farbe, 16mm, 12 min, engl. OV und elektr. dt. UT Cinenova Distribution

Am klarsten kommt das ironische Wechselspiel zwischen Bild und Sprache in Jan Oxenbergs Home Movie zum Ausdruck. Die Filmmacherin hinterfragt die Homemovies ihrer Eltern, die sie als kleines Mädchen zeigen. [...] Über diesen Bildern ist eine nachdenkliche Stimme zu hören [...] Vom Kontrast ist die Rede zwischen der ´normalen´ Außenwelt und dem inneren Gefühl, ´anders´ zu sein. [...] an einer Stelle schaut die kleine Jan so aufmüpfig in die Kamera, als wolle sie sagen, daß sie nicht das kleine weibliche Wesen ist, das die Eltern gerne auf den Film bannen würden. (Richard Dyer, Now You See It: Studies on Lesbian and Gay Film, 1990)


US 1944, R, B Maya Deren, K Hella Heyman, Alexander Hammid, D Maya Deren, John Cage, Alexander Hammid, Hella Heyman, Parker Tyler, Kopie s/w, 16mm, 15 min, ohne Ton, Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V.

Unter einem Gesichtspunkt ist der Film, wie mir scheint, absolut gelungen: die komplizierten Techniken sind mit einer solchen Subtilität ausgeführt, daß man sich der Eigenartigkeit des Filmes beim Betrachten nicht bewußt wird. Erst hinterher, wie nach einem Traum, realisiert man, wie seltsam die Ereignisse waren, und ist erstaunt über die scheinbare Normalität, in der sie erschienen sind. (Maya Deren, Choreographie für eine Kamera, 1995)


US 1969, R, S Madeline Anderson, P Madeline Anderson, American Foundation of Non-Violence, D Coretta Scott King, Ralph Abernathy, Leon Davis, Andrew Young, Kopie Farbe, 16mm, 28 min, engl. OV und elektr. dt. UT, Icarus Film

1969 wird Madeline Anderson von der Krankenhaus-Gewerkschaft Local 1199 beauftragt, einen Streik am Medical College Hospital der Universität von South Carolina in Charleston aufzuzeichnen. Die Mitarbeiter streiken für die Anerkennung der Gewerkschaft und für gerechte Löhne. Von den vierhundert streikenden Mitarbeitern sind bis auf zwölf Mitarbeiter Frauen und alle von ihnen schwarz. Der so entstandene Dokumentarfilm I Am Somebody gilt als der erste halbstündige Dokumentarfilm einer gewerkschaftlich organisierten, weiblichen Afro-Amerikanerin. (Stacey Doyle, Black Film Center/Archive: Madeline Anderson & I Am Somebody, 2013)


CUB 1965, R, B Santiago Álvarez, K Pepín Rodríguez, Alberto Hernández, S Norma Torrado, Idalberto Gálvez, T Adalberto Jiménez, P ICAIC D Lena Horne, Kopie s/w, 35mm, 6 min, span. OV, Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V.

Mit Now! schien das Kino damals über Nacht zu einem völlig neuen Idiom gefunden zu haben. Die Musik, der gesamte Sound von Álvarez‘ Film stammte von Lena Horne. Dazu Bilder vom Kampf gegen Rassendiskriminierung in den USA, Fotos von Lyndon B. Johnson, Wochenschausujets von der Gewalttätigkeit der Polizei, Bilder aus Comic Strips und Aufnahmen von Black Panther-Demonstrationen. (Alexander Kluge, Programmheft DOK Leipzig, 2012)


Pupille – Kino in der Uni