Moderation by Karola Gramann

The Women’s Event at the EIFF in 1972 was the first European women’s film festival. Topics of this conversation are how this festival came about and how films were selected, which discussions took place, and what resonance it found with the audience and the press. Kathi Kamleitner is currently researching feminist film festivals; Lynda Myles (EIFF festival director from 1973-1980) and film theorist Laura Mulvey organised the Women’s Event in 1972, together with film critic Claire Johnston. With a view toward Remake, the discussion will also focus on the meaning and relevance of a women’s film festival today.

GB 1972, D, P Esther Ronay, Mary Kelly, Mary Capps, Margaret Dickinson, Brigid Seagrave, Humphrey Trevelyan, Susan Shapiro, Cast Doreen Adams, Alice Boxall, Beatrice Davies, Mary Elizabeth Davey, Print b/w, 16mm, 20 min, English OV with electronic German SUB, Cinenova Distribution

Women of the Rhondda turns much needed attention to the role played by women in the gruelling Welsh Miners' Strikes of the 20s and 30s. […] A story of solidarity and women's courage which has stayed hidden in more conventional histories. What comes across is the strength of women within the struggles of the labour movement (Catalogue Cinenova).


GB 1984, D Lis Rhodes, Joanna Davis, P Four Corners Films, Print colour, 16mm, 2 min, English OV, Cinenova Distribution
One of only 5 remaining photos of the aftermath of the first atomic bomb dropped on a civilian population juxtaposed with a playground scene portrays the fact and meaning of Hiroshima which are being lost.
One of thirteen 1 minute films which grew out of a series of short poems written by Lis Rhodes, reflecting on the traditional patterns of oppression in women's lives (pornography, violence, nuclear weapons) and the many forms that resistance takes. Made with the artist Jo Davis and commissioned by Channel 4 for television broadcast. (Catalogue Luxonline)


Pupille - Kino in der Uni

Moderation Karola Gramann

Der Women’s Event ’72 des EIFF war das erste europäische Frauenfilmfestival. Wie dieses Festival zustande kam und wie die Filmauswahl, welche Diskussionen stattfanden und welches Echo es beim Publikum sowie bei der Presse gab, sind Themen des Gesprächs. Kathi Kamleitner forscht derzeit zu feministischen Filmfestivals, Lynda Myles (EIFF Festivalleiterin von 1973-1980) und die Filmtheoretikerin Laura Mulvey organisierten – zusammen mit der Filmkritikerin Claire Johnston – 1972 den Women’s Event. Im Blick auf Remake wird es auch um die Bedeutung und die Möglichkeiten eines Frauenfilmfestivals heute gehen. 

GB 1972, R, P Esther Ronay, Mary Kelly, Mary Capps, Margaret Dickinson, Brigid Seagrave, Humphrey Trevelyan, Susan Shapiro, D Doreen Adams, Alice Boxall, Beatrice Davies, Mary Elizabeth Davey, Kopie s/w, 16mm, 20 min, engl. OV und elektr. dt. UT, Cinenova Distribution

Women of the Rhondda lenkt die längst fällige Aufmerksamkeit auf die Rolle der Frauen in den zermürbenden Streiks der walisischen Bergarbeiter in den zwanziger und dreißiger Jahren des 20. Jahrhunderts. […] Der Film erzählt von der Solidarität und dem Mut von Frauen, die in der herkömmlichen Geschichtsschreibung bisher unterschlagen wurden. Zutage tritt die Stärke der Frauen in den Kämpfen der Arbeiterbewegung (Katalog Cinenova).


GB 1984, R Lis Rhodes, Joanna Davis, P Four Corners Films, Kopie Farbe, 16mm, 2 min, engl. OV, Cinenova Distribution

Eines von nur fünf erhaltenen Fotos, die die Folgen des ersten Atombombenabwurfs auf Zivilbevölkerung zeigen, wird einer Spielplatzszene gegenübergestellt und beschreibt so Faktum und Bedeutung von Hiroshima, welche zunehmend verloren gehen.
Dies ist einer von dreizehn einminütigen Filmen, die sich aus einer Reihe kurzer Gedichte von Lis Rhodes entwickelten. Sie reflektieren die traditionellen Unterdrückungsmuster im Leben der Frauen (Pornografie, Gewalt, Atomwaffen) und die vielfältigen Formen des Widerstands dagegen. Die Filmreihe entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit der Künstlerin Jo Davis und wurde vom Fernsehsender Channel 4 in Auftrag gegeben. (Katalog Luxonline)


Pupille - Kino in der Uni