GB 1984, D Lis Rhodes, Joanna Davis, M Lindsay Cooper, P Four Corners Films, Cast Lily Greenham, Print colour, 16mm, 2 min, English OV, Cinenova Distribution

"Revolution is but thought carried into action." Emma Goldman, 1869-1940
One of thirteen 1 minute films which grew out of a series of short poems written by Lis Rhodes, reflecting on the traditional patterns of oppression in women's lives (pornography, violence, nuclear weapons) and the many forms that resistance takes. Made with the artist Jo Davis and commissioned by Channel 4 for television broadcast. (Catalogue Luxonline)


SU 1927, D Abram Room, SC Abram Room, Viktor Shklovskiy, C Grigori Giber, P Sovkino Studio, Cast Nikolay Batalov, Lyudmila Semyonova, Leonid Jurenev, Vladimir Fogel, Yelena Sokolova, Mariya Yarotskaya, Print b/w, DCP from 35mm, 86 min, silent, English SUB and electronic German SUB, Lobster Films

Introduction by Rosalinde Sartorti

Free love, an emancipated woman, and a Komsomol ménage-a-trois in the proletarian Moscow of Lenin’s New Economic Policy. Bed and sofa change their occupancy as often as the unleashed camera changes perspective and Liuda changes her sex partners. The latter are basically all the same – men who tend to be inattentive – and thus, pregnant, she leaves the world of Dritte Kleinbürgerstraße. ‘Passionate, talented, nervous, daring and adventuresome (Viktor Shklovskiy)’, (…) Abraham Room is unfortunately nearly forgotten today. His film, shot in only 16 days, is a brilliant fine adjustment of daily life that combines a Vertovesque metropolis symphony with Kuleshovesque esprit and Italian neorealism avant la lettre. (Barbara Wurm, programme booklet Österreichisches Filmmuseum, May 2006).

Accompanied on the piano by Eunice Martin


Pupille - Kino in der Uni


Additional Screenings of "Tretya meshchanskaya"


Filmtheater Friedrichsdorf-Köppern
with live voice-over in German

GB 1984, R Lis Rhodes, Joanna Davis, M Lindsay Cooper, P Four Corners Films, D Lily Greenham, Kopie Farbe, 16mm, 2 min, engl. OV, Cinenova Distribution

„Revolution ist nichts als ein Gedanke, der in die Tat umgesetzt wird.“ Emma Goldman, 1869-1940
Dies ist einer von dreizehn einminütigen Filmen, die sich aus einer Reihe kurzer Gedichte von Lis Rhodes entwickelten. Sie reflektieren die traditionellen Unterdrückungsmuster im Leben der Frauen (Pornografie, Gewalt, Atomwaffen) und die vielfältigen Formen des Widerstands dagegen. Die Filmreihe entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit der Künstlerin Jo Davis und wurde vom Fernsehsender Channel 4 in Auftrag gegeben. (Katalog Luxonline)


SU 1927, R Abram Room, B Abram Room, Viktor Shklovskiy, K Grigori Giber, P Sovkino Studio, D Nikolay Batalov, Lyudmila Semyonova, Leonid Jurenev, Vladimir Fogel, Yelena Sokolowa, Mariya Yarotskaya, Kopie s/w, DCP von 35mm, 86 min, stumm, engl. UT und elektr. dt. UT, Lobster Films

Einführung Rosalinde Sartorti

Freie Liebe, eine emanzipierte Frau, ein Komsomolzen-Dreieck im proletarischen Moskau der NÖP-Zeit. Bett und Sofa wechseln ihre Belegung so oft hin und her wie die entfesselte Kamera ihre Perspektiven und Ljuda ihre Beischläfer. Doch die sind in erster Linie eines, nämlich tendenziell unaufmerksame Männer, und so verlässt sie, schwanger, die Welt der Dritten-Kleinbürger-Straße. […] Abram Room entfaltet – „leidenschaftlich, talentiert, nervös, kühn und unternehmungslustig“ (Viktor Shklovskiy) und heute leider fast vergessen – eine fulminante, in nur 16 Tagen gedrehte Feinjustierung des Alltags, bestehend aus Vertov’scher Großstadt-Symphonik, Kulešov’schem Esprit und italienischem Neorealismus avant la lettre (Barbara Wurm, Programmheft Österreichisches Filmmuseum, Mai 2006).

Am Flügel begleitet von Eunice Martins


Pupille - Kino in der Uni


Weitere Spieltermine "Tretya meshchanskaya"


Filmtheater Friedrichsdorf-Köppern
mit deutsch eingelesenen Zwischentiteln