GB 1913, P Warwick Trading Company, Print b/w, 35mm, 40 s, silent, BFI National Archive

These newsreel scenes show the policemen swarming the streets of Westminster prepared to quash violent protests. As it happened, according to a contemporary Guardian newspaper report: "women showed no sign of an organised attack, and after a time the crowd became weary of waiting for something and melted away". (Katy McGahan, Make More Noise! Suffragettes in Silent Film)


GB 1913, P Pathé Frères Cinema, Print b/w, 35mm, 46 s, silent, BFI National Archive

This Pathé newsreel captures the aftermath of an arson attack on Levetleigh House, St Leonards, former residence of Conservative MP for Hastings and Rye Arthur Du Cros. The attack was orchestrated by suffragette Kitty Marion, by way of a protest against the politician's staunch resistance to women's suffrage. (Katy McGahan, Make More Noise! Suffragettes in Silent Film)


GB 1917, P Topical Film Company, Print b/w, Digibeta from 35mm, 1 min, silent, BFI National Archive

The great leaders of the party pose for the newsreel cameras, as the WSPU [Women's Social and Political Union] took to the stage of Queen's Hall London to discuss the issue of women Members of Parliament. We see Emmeline (Mrs) Pankhurst, her daughter Christabel, Flora 'The General’ Drummond and Angie Kenney, the only working-class suffragette to rise to the top echelons of the party. (Jez Stewart, Make More Noise! Suffragettes in Silent Film)


GB 1923, P Topical Film Company, Print b/w, 35mm, 13 s, silent, BFI National Archive

Nancy Astor addressing her supporters from the back of a car during her re-election for Plymouth Sutton. This was the Conservative seat she had won in 1919 making her the first woman MP to sit in parliament.  (Bryony Dixon, Make More Noise! Suffragettes in Silent Film)


D 1913, D, SC Urban Gad, C Emil Schünemann, Guido Seeber, Karl Freund, P Paul Davidson for Projektions AG »Union« (PAGU), Berlin, Cast Asta Nielsen, Max Landa, Mary Scheller, Adele Reuter-Eichberg, Fred Immler, Charly Berger, Print b/w, Blu-ray from 35mm, 60 min, silent, Stiftung Deutsche Kinemathek

„Asta Nielsen depicts all the stages of her spiritual condition in this play. From the cheerful, larksome young girl returning to her parental home (…) to the mature woman hurling defiance at her father with a decisive No! In the assembly she swears an oath, completes her baptism by fire as she demolishes windowpanes armed with a hammer, then finally lands in prison. (…) Asta Nielsen performs this pantomime with consummate skill.“ (Christian Arp, Erste Internationale Film-Zeitung, 1913). The protagonists are based on British suffragettes Emmeline Pankhurst and her daughter Christabel Pankhurst. Bavarian censors only approved a version that had been shortened by 136 metres, leading Urban Gad to pull the film from release in Bavaria.

Accompanied on a historic Kramer grand piano by Elvira Plenar


Historisches Museum Frankfurt


Weiterer Spieltermin "Die Suffragette."


Murnau-Filmtheater Wiesbaden

GB 1913, P Warwick Trading Company, Kopie s/w, 35mm, 40 s, stumm , BFI National Archive

Diese Szenen aus der Wochenschau zeigen Polizisten, wie sie in den Straßen von Westminster ausschwärmen, um gewaltsame Proteste niederzuschlagen. Als dies passierte, so ein zeitgenössischer Bericht aus dem Guardian, „zeigten die Frauen keine Anzeichen eines organisierten Angriffs. Nach einiger Zeit wurde die Menge des Wartens müde und löste sich auf.“ (Katy McGahan, Make More Noise! Suffragettes in Silent Film)


GB 1913, P Pathé Frères Cinema, Kopie s/w, 35mm, 46 s, stumm, BFI National Archive

Die Pathé Wochenschau zeigt die Nachwirkungen eines Brandanschlags auf das Levetleigh House, St. Leonards, ehemaliger Wohnsitz von Arthur Du Cros, konservativer Abgeordneter für Hastings und Rye. Der Anschlag wurde von der Suffragette Kitty Marion als Protest gegen den erbitterten Widerstand der Politiker gegen das Frauenwahlrecht orchestriert. (Katy McGahan, Make More Noise! Suffragettes in Silent Film)


GB 1917, P Topical Film Company, Kopie s/w, Digibeta von 35mm, 1 min, stumm, BFI National Archive

Die großen Führer der Parteien posierten gerade für die Wochenschaukameras, als die Women’s Social and Political Union (WSPU) die Bühne der Queen’s Hall betrat, um über die Frage von weiblichen Parlamentsmitgliedern zu diskutieren. Wir sehen Emmeline (Mrs.) Pankhurst, ihre Tochter Christabel, Flora „Der General“ Drummond und Angie Kenney, die einzige aus der Arbeiterklasse stammende Suffragette, die in die Führungsspitze der Partei aufsteigen sollte. (Jez Stewart, Make More Noise! Suffragettes in Silent Film)


GB 1923, P Topical Film Company, Kopie s/w, 35mm, 13 s, stumm, BFI National Archive

Von dem Rücksitz eines Autos spricht Nancy Astor während ihrer Wiederwahl für den Wahlkreis Plymouth Sutton zu ihren Anhängern. Die Wahl eines Sitzes für die konservative Partei machte sie 1919 zum ersten weiblichen Mitglied im Parlament. (Bryony Dixon, Make More Noise! Suffragettes in Silent Film)


D 1913, R, B Urban Gad, K Emil Schünemann, Guido Seeber, Karl Freund, P Paul Davidson für Projektions AG »Union« (PAGU), Berlin, D Asta Nielsen, Max Landa, Mary Scheller, Adele Reuter-Eichberg, Fred Immler, Charly Berger, Kopie s/w, Blu-ray von 35mm, 60 min, stumm, Stiftung Deutsche Kinemathek

„Asta Nielsen gibt in diesem Stück die ganzen Stadien ihres Seelenzustandes wieder. Vom heiteren, übermütigen jungen Mädchen, das ins Elternhaus zurückkehrt […], bis zum gereiften Weibe, die dem Vater ein entschiedenes Nein! entgegenschleudert. Hier in der Versammlung den Schwur leistet, die Feuertaufe besteht, als sie, mit dem Hammer bewaffnet, Fensterscheiben demoliert, um zuletzt im Gefängnis zu enden. […] Hier zeigt Asta Nielsen Minenspiel in vollendeter Kunst“ (Christian Arp, Erste Internationale Film-Zeitung, 1913). Die Protagonistinnen sind den britischen Suffragetten Emmeline Pankhurst und Tochter Christabel Pankhurst nachempfunden. Das bayrische Zensurverfahren genehmigte nur eine um 136 Meter gekürzte Filmfassung, Urban Grad zog den Film daraufhin aus dem bayrischen Spielbetrieb zurück.

Am historischen Kramer-Flügel begleitet von Elvira Plenar


Historisches Museum Frankfurt


Weiterer Spieltermin "Die Suffragette."


Murnau-Filmtheater Wiesbaden