CDN 1972, D Recha Jungmann, Print colour, DCP from 16mm, 5 min, German OV, Deutsches Filminstitut – DIF e.V. 

A short, flighty poem: A woman’s face becomes a man’s face, two women’s faces; one withdraws, then no longer does; they argue, about the man they’re looking at, how can you? His eyes are deep, no, his eyes are vacant; and the women together, they love each other at the end – and the man? Let yourself be surprised… (Doris Kuhn, Rote Küsse – FilmSchauBuch, 1990).

The digital restoration is funded by Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst.


D 1981, D Recha Jungmann, SC Recha Jungmann with Titus Spree, David Schleiermacher, C Marian Czura, Renato Fortunato, Horst Zeidler, E Beatrice Wilbert, S Enzio Edschmid, Joseph Dillinger, P Susanne Osterried Filmproduktion for ZDF, Cast Titus Spree, David Schleiermacher, Werner Schroeter, Recha Jungmann, Alex Bergs, Birgitta Kummer, Annette Kalk, Print colour, 16mm, 105 min, German OV, Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V.

Guest: Recha Jungmann

Recha Jungmann aspired to capture the image of her son before he would leave her charge behind, transcending from the children’s world of the moon to the adult world of the sun. With all intent the camera was used to record a slice of “private” Germany, and it does so more persuading than the film titled Deutschland privat.  Jungmann worked with love and sensibility; the overexposed images of Titus as a small child, nestling up to her, suggest that letting her son go is a painful process.  She portraits herself as a mess, jumping in the meadow betwixt father and son; trying in vain to freeze the time that’s slipping away. (Brigitte Jeremias, FAZ, 30.5.81) Recha Jungmann attempted to use tape and camera to capture her son’s secret emotions, desires and fears [...] with a camera, that partly follows the observing eyes of the mother, but also conveys what Titus, the son, is experiencing [...]. The film happens to not be as “private” as expected; Titus and David, subtly studied, readjust the image of the apathetic, self-absorbed teenager. Behind the roughness of them encountering their surroundings lies a unique, fascinating and even kinder world. (Carola Splettstösser, Badische Zeitung, 30.5.81) [A] film by a mother about her son. The camera moves around mother and son, like we’ve only seen before in home movies. […] She shows herself to be a woman who lives her own life, and as a mother whose sphere of influence is determined on the one hand by the child; on the other hand, she pushes this child to the sidelines. This is a combination that many audience members found intolerable. […] Between the Moon and the Sun is to me the most personal and direct film in the festival. [...] Recha Jungmann went as far as she could with her mother-son theme, displaying her fears, desires, sadness, and hopelessness – and her suppression of it all, so she could function. This is absolutely new. (Gesine Strempel, Courage, No. 4/1981).

The digital restoration is funded by Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst.


Kino des Deutschen Filminstituts & Filmmuseums


Pupille - Kino in der Uni

CDN 1972, R Recha Jungmann, Kopie Farbe, DCP von 16mm, 5 min, dt. OV, Deutsches Filminstitut – DIF e.V. 

Ein kurzes, kapriziöses Gedicht:: Ein Frauengesicht, es wird ein Männergesicht, zwei Frauengesichter, eins entzieht sich, dann nicht mehr, sie streiten, über den Mann, den sie anschauen, wie kannst du nur, seine Augen sind tief, nein seine Augen sind leer, und die Frauen zusammen, sie lieben sich, am Schluß – und der Mann? Lassen Sie sich überraschen … (Doris Kuhn, Rote Küsse – FilmSchauBuch, 1990).


Die Digitalisierung wird vom Hessischen Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst gefördert.


D 1981, R Recha Jungmann, B Recha Jungmann mit Titus Spree, David Schleiermacher, K Marian Czura, Renato Fortunato, Horst Zeidler, S Beatrice Wilbert, T Enzio Edschmid, Joseph Dillinger, P Susanne Osterried Filmproduktion für ZDF, D Titus Spree, David Schleiermacher, Werner Schroeter, Recha Jungmann, Alex Bergs, Birgitta Kummer, Annette Kalk, Kopie Farbe, 16mm, 105 min, dt. OV, Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V.

Zu Gast Recha Jungmann

Ehe er ihrer Obhut entwächst, aus der kindlichen Mondwelt in die Sonnenwelt der Erwachsenen gleitet, wollte Recha Jungmann das Bild ihres Sohnes festhalten. Bewußt ist hier mit der Kamera ein Stück „Deutschland privat“ aufgezeichnet, überzeugender als in dem gleichnamigen Film. Sie hat mit Liebe und und Sensibilität gearbeitet, die überbelichteten Bilder, in denen Titus als kleines Kind sich an sie schmiegt, lassen erahnen, welchen Schmerz es ihr bereitet, den Sohn herzugeben. Sich selber zeigt sie ungeschickt auf einer Wiese vor Vater und Sohn herspringend, in dem vergeblichen Versuch, im Rückwärtsgang die ihr entgleitende Zeit im Foto festzuhalten. (Brigitte Jeremias, FAZ, 30.5.81) Recha Jungmann hat den Versuch unternommen, mittels Kamera und Tonband etwas vom geheimen Fühlen und Wollen und Sich-Ängstigen des Sohnes einzufangen [...] mit einer Kamera, die teils dem beobachtenden Auge der Mutter folgt, teils aber direkt das vermittelt, was der Sohn Titus erlebt [...]. Es zeigt sich, dass der Films so privat nicht ist; Titus und David, so subtil beobachtet, rücken das Bild vom desinteressierten, ichbezogenen Heranwachsenden wieder zurecht. Hinter der Sprödigkeit, mit der sie der Umwelt begegnen, verbirgt sich eine eigene faszinierende, auch menschlichere Welt. (Carola Splettstösser, Badische Zeitung, 30.5.81) Zwischen Mond und Sonne ist für mich der persönlichste, direkteste Film des Festivals [...] Recha Jungmann ist mit ihrem Mutter-Sohn Thema so weit gegangen wie sie konnte, hat ihre Ängste, Wünsche, Trauer, Hoffnungslosigkeit und die Verdrängung all dessen gezeigt, um funktionieren zu können. Das ist absolut neu. (Gesine Stempel, Courage, Nr.4/1981)


Die Digitalisierung wird vom Hessischen Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst gefördert.


Kino des Deutschen Filminstituts & Filmmuseums


Pupille - Kino in der Uni