GB 1915, P Topical Film Company, Print b/w, 35mm, silent, 1 min, BFI National Archive

At the outset of First World War, Britain's suffragettes called off their campaigning for the vote and instead offered their help in mobilising women to work in munitions factories. This impressive rally was intended as a show of patriotic solidarity. Though not universally welcomed, it turned out to be a shrewd move, which helped the campaigners secure their prize in the last months of the war. (Ros Cranston, Make More Noise! Suffragettes in Silent Film)


CH 2017, D, SC Petra Biondina Volpe, C Judith Kaufmann, E Hansjörg Weissbrich, M Annette Focks, P Lukas Hobi, Reto Schärli, Cast Marie Leuenberger, Max Simonischek, Rachel Braunschweig, Sibylle Brunner, Marta Zoffoli, Bettina Stucky, Print colour, DCP, 96 min, Swiss-German OV with German SUB, Die Filmagentinnen/Alamode Film

This film shines like a burning lens on the closed, reactionary world of narrow-minded post-war Switzerland. The charmingly playful, funny and tragic production stands out due to its excellent actresses. It is agreeably nuanced, showing that men also suffer – and can even crack – under the rigid division of roles. Die göttliche Ordnung is an important film, not least because the younger generation no longer knows much about the struggles surrounding the belated correction of the biggest political disgrace in a modern state – or that Switzerland has only been a democracy for 46 years. (Anita Fetz, Die Zeit, No. 11/2017).


Kino des Deutschen Filminstituts & Filmmuseums


Additional Screenings of "Die göttliche Ordnung"

Murnau-Filmtheater Wiesbaden

GB 1915, P Topical Film Company, Kopie s/w, 35mm, stumm, 1 min, BFI National Archive

Am Anfang des Ersten Weltkrieges setzen die britischen Suffragetten ihre Kampagne für das Frauenwahlrecht aus. Stattdessen boten sie ihre Hilfe für die Mobilisierung von Frauen zur Arbeit in Munitionsfabriken an. Diese beeindruckenden Kundgebungen sollten ihre patriotische Solidarität unterstreichen. Obwohl nicht überall willkommen, erwiesen sie sich als kluger Schachzug, der dafür sorgte, dass die Aktivistinnen in den letzten Monaten des Krieges ihren Platz sicherten. (Ros Cranston, Make More Noise! Suffragettes in Silent Film)


CH 2017, R, B Petra Biondina Volpe, K Judith Kaufmann, S Hansjörg Weissbrich, M Annette Focks, P Lukas Hobi, Reto Schärli, D Marie Leuenberger, Max Simonischek, Rachel Braunschweig, Sibylle Brunner, Marta Zoffoli, Bettina Stucky, Kopie Farbe, DCP, 96 min, schwz.dt. OV mit dt. UT, Die Filmagentinnen/Alamode Film

Der Film leuchtet wie mit dem Brennglas in die reaktionäre, verschlossene Welt der kleinbürger­lichen Schweiz der Nachkriegszeit. Er besticht durch seine charmant-verspielte, witzige, tragische Inszenierung und seine hervorragenden Schauspielerinnen. Er ist wohltuend differenziert und zeigt, dass auch Männer unter der rigiden Rollenverteilung leiden, ja an dieser zerbrechen können. Die göttliche Ordnung ist nicht zuletzt deshalb ein wichtiger Film, weil die jüngere Generation kaum mehr etwas über diese Kämpfe weiß: über die späte Korrektur der größten politischen Schande des modernen Bundesstaates – und darüber, dass die Demokratie in der Schweiz darum erst 46 Jahre alt ist (Anita Fetz, Die Zeit, Nr. 11/2017).


Kino des Deutschen Filminstituts & Filmmuseums


Weitere Spieltermine "Die göttliche Ordnung"

Murnau-Filmtheater Wiesbaden