Beneath the Olive Tree

GR, US 2014, D Stavroula Toska, SC, P Sophia Antonini, Stavroula Toska, C Sophia Antonini, E Lauren Beckett Jackson, M Toa Zervas, N Olympia Dukakis, Print colour, DCP, 76 min, greek./engl. OV with engl. SUB  

The departure point for this film is a series of notebooks created during the Greek civil war of 1946-49 and first discovered years later, under an olive tree. Inside their pages, diary-like, deported women recount their experiences in Greek concentration camps. Many of them were active in the resistance under Nazi occupation. Actress Olympia Dukakis, who serves as the film’s narrator, was also the individual who originally called director Toska’s attention to the unique documents.

„Stavroula Toska began doing her own research into this Greek history, which was previously unknown to her. She discovered that her own grandmother on her mother’s side was among the women deported to the island of Trikeri, one of several on which the women’s camps had been erected. The silence of the schoolbooks corresponds to the silence in the family. Stavroula Toska is confronted with the aching inability of the mother to speak, which renders the deep individual trauma palpable. The silence of Greece’s public institutions indicates the trauma to society that is still present today.“ (Nia Perivolaropoulou, Festival Publikation Views of History, 2019)

Followed by a conversation with the director and Elli Nikolaou, protagonist and survivor of the greek women concentration camps

Hosts: Athina Petsou and Nia Perivolaropoulou


WED 27.11.19

16.00

Pupille – Kino in der Uni

Beneath the Olive Tree

GR, US 2014, R Stavroula Toska, B, P Sophia Antonini, Stavroula Toska, K Sophia Antonini, S Lauren Beckett Jackson, M Toa Zervas, E Olympia Dukakis, Kopie Farbe, DCP, 76 min, griech./engl. OV mit engl. UT  

Ausgangspunkt des Films ist eine Reihe von Heften, die während des Griechischen Bürgerkriegs (1946–49) entstanden und erst Jahre später entdeckt wurden – unter einem Olivenbaum. Deportierte Frauen schildern darin tagebuchähnlich ihre Erfahrungen in griechischen Konzentrationslagern. Während der NS-Besatzung waren viele von ihnen im Widerstand aktiv. Schauspielerin Olympia Dukakis, die im Film als Erzählerin fungiert, machte Regisseurin Toska ursprünglich auf die Dokumente aufmerksam.

„Stavroula Toska begann mit eigenen Forschungen über dieses ihr bis dahin unbekannte Stück griechischer Geschichte. Sie entdeckte, dass ihre eigene Großmutter mütterlicherseits unter jenen Frauen war, die auf die Insel Trikeri deportiert wurden, eine der Inseln, auf denen die Frauenlager eingerichtet worden waren. Dem Schweigen der Schulbücher entspricht das Schweigen in der Familie. Die schmerzende Unfähigkeit der Mutter zu sprechen, mit der Stavroula Toska konfrontiert ist, lässt das tiefe individuelle Trauma spüren; das Schweigen der öffentlichen Institutionen Griechenlands verweist auf das Trauma der Gesellschaft, auf ein Trauma, das bis heute weiterwirkt.“ (Nia Perivolaropoulou, Festivalpublikation Geschichtsanschauungen. Views of History, 2019)

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit der Regisseurin und Elli Nikolaou, Protagonistin und Überlebende der griechischen Frauen-KZs

Moderation: Athina Petsou und Nia Perivolaropoulou


MI 27.11.19

16.00

Pupille – Kino in der Uni