PL 1988 | Director, Script: Irena Kamieńska | Camera: Krzysztof Pakulski | Editor: Jadwiga Zajiček | Production: Zbigniew Domagalski | b/w | 35mm | 15 min | polish OV with english SUB + german SUB | Archive International Short Film Festival Oberhausen / Wytwórnia Filmów Dokumentalnych i Fabularnych

Just one year before the first free election of 1989, Kamieńska once again turns her gaze to the emancipated female, to produce this moving portrayal of women, who under Communism, assumed male jobs. It is as much a story of female strength and persistence as it is of women’s exploitation in the job market. (Anna Misiak, womenundercommunism.com)

Multi-award-winning hardcore realism from Kamieńska, who passed away in 2016, a swansong to the reality of the socialist heroine known as the “working woman” in all its impossible distance from the totality of emancipatory ideals: a joyless reality, according to the director, lonely and without perspective. (Barbara Wurm, goEast – Festival des Mittel- und Osteuropäischen Films, Wiesbaden)


DDR 1989 | Director: Helke Misselwitz | Script: Helke Misselwitz, Thomas Plenert | Camera: Thomas Plenert | Editor: Gudrun Plenert | Music: Brigitte Unterdörfer | Sound: Ronald Gohlke | Dramatic Composition: Bernd Burkhardt | Productionsleitung: Herbert Kruschke | b/w | 35mm | 16 min | german OV | DEFA Stiftung

Portrait of a private coal company in East Berlin’s Prenzlauer Berg district in 1988/89. The feisty woman boss runs the business with humour and understanding. Her seven male employees respect her. To the outside world, they are all tough guys, but as they describe their jobs and personal situations, above and beyond the hard manual labour, their vulnerability starts to come to light. Under gentle questioning, the subjects of this social survey by Helke Misselwitz willingly allow the audience a “look into their hearts”: “Can hands this rough be tender?” That approach makes it seem, at times, as if this were a utopia of solidarity at the margins of the Socialist workers’ state. Looking at these figures “from below”, the film touches on many taboos. The discussion subjects range from the building of the Berlin Wall and possible escape, to child abuse and suicide, as well as prison and alcoholism. Fiercely intent on authenticity, which is why it was shot in “outmoded” black-and-white, the film documents a trade that would soon itself become obsolete – turning it into a survey of social contradictions in East Germany, made just a few months before the country’s political collapse. (Jörg Schöning, 69. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin)

Followed by a conversation with Helke Misselwitz


DO, 25.11.21

16.00

Pupille – Kino in der Uni

Tickets

PL 1988 | Regie, Buch: Irena Kamieńska | Kamera: Krzysztof Pakulski | Schnitt: Jadwiga Zajiček | Produktion: Zbigniew Domagalski | s/w | 35mm | 15 min | pol. OV mit engl. UT + dt. UT | Archiv der Internationalen Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen / Wytwórnia Filmów Dokumentalnych i Fabularnych

Nur ein Jahr vor den ersten freien Wahlen von 1989 nimmt Kamieńska erneut die emanzipierte Frau in den Blick und produziert dieses bewegende Porträt von Frauen, die im Kommunismus männliche Tätigkeiten aufnahmen. Der Film erzählt gleichermaßen von weiblicher Stärke und Ausdauer wie auch von der Ausbeutung der Frauen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt. (Anna Misiak, womenundercommunism.com).

Der vielprämierte Hardcore-Realismus der 2016 verstorbenen Kamieńska – ein Abgesang auf die von allen Befreiungsidealen meilenweit entfernte Realität der sozialistischen Heldin namens „werktätige Frau“: freudlos sei diese, so die Regisseurin, einsam und perspektivlos. (Barbara Wurm, goEast Filmfestival, Wiesbaden)


DDR 1989 | Regie: Helke Misselwitz | Buch: Helke Misselwitz, Thomas Plenert | Kamera: Thomas Plenert | Schnitt: Gudrun Plenert | Musik: Brigitte Unterdörfer | Ton: Ronald Gohlke | Dramaturgie: Bernd Burkhardt | Produktionsleitung: Herbert Kruschke | s/w | 35mm | 16 min | dt. OV | DEFA Stiftung

Eine private Kohlenhandlung im Ostberliner Stadtteil Prenzlauer Berg im Winter 1988/89. Die resolute Chefin führt mit Witz und Verstand das Regime und genießt den Respekt ihrer sieben männlichen Angestellten. Nach außen hin allesamt harte Kerle, offenbaren sie in den Schilderungen ihrer beruflichen und privaten Situation, abseits der schweren körperlichen Arbeit, auch die eigene Verletzlichkeit. Der Sozialstudie von Helke Misselwitz gelingt es durch behutsames Fragen, dass die Protagonisten sich bereitwillig „ins Herz blicken“ lassen: „Können so harte Hände zärtlich sein?“ Damit wirkt der Film zuweilen wie die Utopie einer solidarischen Gemeinschaft am sozialen Rand des sozialistischen Arbeiterstaats. Der Blick auf ihn „von unten“ rührt wiederholt an Tabus: Mauerbau und Republikflucht, Kindesmissbrauch und Suizid sind ebenso Gesprächsthemen wie Haftstrafen und Alkoholismus. Auf unbedingte Authentizität bedacht und darum in „antiquiertem“ Schwarzweiß gedreht, dokumentierte der Film ein bald darauf anachronistisches Gewerbe – und wurde darüber zur Bestandsaufnahme gesellschaftlicher Widersprüche, wenige Monate vor der politischen Wende in der DDR. (Jörg Schöning, 69. Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin)

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Helke Misselwitz


DO, 25.11.21

16.00

Pupille – Kino in der Uni

Tickets