USA 1982 | Director: Elizabeth Barret | Production: Appalshop, Inc. | Colour | 16mm | 39 min | amer. OV | Cinenova

This sensitive documentary about women in mining settlements describes how women broke into this field of work through intense legal disputes. The miners discuss why they want to work in mines despite the danger, filth and physical strain. Most women can otherwise only get poorly-paid jobs as waitresses or babysitters in the settlement, so work in the mines is the only opportunity of getting good wages. Alone or in groups, the women disuss their socialisation-induced lack of knowledge about working with tools, discrimination in education, and sexual harassment in the workplace. Archival footage and film clips are used in a historical review of women's engagement as mine workers and union members and as supports of their husbands, sons and brothers. The omnipresent dangers of accidents and black lung disease are depicted strikingly in this film. The need to form a pregnancy police force is also discussed. (femme totale 1991)


DE, ROU 2018 | Director, Editor, Sound: Alexandra Gulea | Script: Kathrin Lauer, Alexandra Gulea | Camera: Nicu Ilfoveanu | Music: Stéphane Karo | Production: Thomas Ciulei | Colour | DCP | 13 min | romanian OV with english SUB | Archive International Short Film Festival Oberhausen

In the Jiu Valley, once a traditional Romanian industrial area, parents now make long journeys to the West wherever they find work. They return too rarely. They send money. Their children are a lot like orphans. Many of them suffer from depression. Some choose the deathly path to paradise or hell. Perhaps hoping to return to a friendlier valley. (International Short Film Festival Oberhausen)


© Angelika Levi

DE 2021 | Director, Camera, Editor: Angelika Levi | Cast: Nancy Torres Geoninatti, Talia Ocampo, Carla Lozano, Lisa Riedner, Hadeer El Mahdawy, Teo Peo, Jhonaikel Vielma, Nancy Jancovich, Jorge, Luis Ramirez, Hector Ramirez, Jhehovany Aries | Music: Udo Moll | Sound Design: Erik Mischijew | Sound: Hadeer El Mahdawy, Lisa Riedner | Costumes: Nancy Torres Geoninatti | Head of Production: Jan Lemitz | Production: Kristina Konrad, Weltfilm | Coproduction: Angelika Levi, celestefilm | Colour | DCP | 22 min | english/span. OV with english SUB | Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V.

Ahorita Frames is a portrait of the Latin American cleaning women who were commissioned by an asbestos disposal contractor to work for a year on the clean-up operation in the ruins of 9/11 – without residency or work permits, and without appropriate dust protection masks. Dust was everywhere and hung in the air, as did the smell of decay. It was unfathomably horrible, yet Angelika Levi's film gets close to the crew in an almost playful way, without trivialising anything. Ahorita Frames jumps back and forth between documentary footage of New York and reenactments with migrants that Levi staged on the other side of the Mexican border. She reconstructs anecdotes from the lives of the cleaning women, who tell their own stories off-screen. One woman imagines herself as a character in a soap opera to come to terms with what she experienced; others seek refuge in gallows humour. Particularly impressive is the scene in which the illegal service providers are honoured alongside other "first responders" and are paid tribute at a banquet. (Were the cleaning women able to make claims through the Victim Compensation Fund that was passed in 2019, nearly twenty years late?) The two-pronged structure of the film that switches between New York and the Mexican border reconstructs the mutual relatedness of these two places, which disappears with the women's deportation. At the same time, as the film's title suggests, it recommends a different, transnational frame for the events and aftermath of 11 September. (Nikolaus Perneczky, Jochen Werner/ Perlentaucher. The culture magazine)

Followed by a conversation with Angelika Levi


FR, 26.11.21

10.30

Pupille – Kino in der Uni

Tickets

USA 1982 | Regie: Elizabeth Barret | Produktion: Appalshop, Inc. | Farbe | 16mm | 39 min | amer. OV | Cinenova

Eine einfühlsame Dokumentation über Frauen in Bergwerksiedlungen. Sie erzählt, wie Frauen durch intensive Rechtsstreitigkeiten in dieses Arbeitsgebiet einbrachen. Die Bergarbeiterinnen diskutieren, warum sie trotz Gefahr, Dreck und physischer Belastung im Bergwerk arbeiten wollen. Die meisten Frauen der Siedlung können nur schlecht bezahlte Jobs als Kellnerinnen oder Babysitter bekommen. Darum ist die Arbeit im Bergbau ihre einzige Chance, einen guten Lohn zu bekommen. Allein oder in Gruppen diskutieren die Frauen ihren sozialisationsbedingten Mangel, mit Werkzeug arbeiten zu können, die Diskriminierung in der Ausbildung und die sexuelle Belästigung am Arbeitsplatz. Archivbilder und Filmclips werden in einem historischen Rückblick auf das Engagement der Frauen als Arbeiterinnen im Bergbau, als Gewerkschaftlerinnen, als Stütze ihrer Ehemänner, Söhne und Brüder verwendet. Die allgegenwärtigen Gefahren von Unfällen und Staublunge werden in diesem Film eindrucksvoll geschildert. Es wird auch die Notwendigkeit, eine Schwangerschaftspolizei zu bilden, diskutiert. (femme totale 1991)


DE, ROU 2018 | Regie, Schnitt, Ton: Alexandra Gulea | Buch: Kathrin Lauer, Alexandra Gulea | Kamera: Nicu Ilfoveanu | Musik: Stéphane Karo | Produktion: Thomas Ciulei | Farbe | DCP | 13 min | rum. OV mit engl. UT | Archiv der Internationalen Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen

Im Jiu-Tal, einst ein traditionelles rumänisches Industriegebiet, nehmen die Eltern nun lange Wege auf sich, um in den Westen zu gelangen, wo immer sie Arbeit finden. Sie kommen zu selten zurück. Sie schicken Geld. Ihre Kinder sind wie Waisenkinder. Alexandra Gulea porträtiert in melancholischen Bildern und mit lakonischem Voice-Over ein verfallenes rumänisches Industriegebiet, in dem Mütter ihre Kinder zurückgelassen haben, um im Westen zu arbeiten. (Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen)


© Angelika Levi

DE 2021 | Regie, Kamera, Schnitt: Angelika Levi | Darsteller*innen: Nancy Torres Geoninatti, Talia Ocampo, Carla Lozano, Lisa Riedner, Hadeer El Mahdawy, Teo Peo, Jhonaikel Vielma, Nancy Jancovich, Jorge, Luis Ramirez, Hector Ramirez, Jhehovany Aries | Musik: Udo Moll | Sound Design: Erik Mischijew | Ton: Hadeer El Mahdawy, Lisa Riedner | Kostüm: Nancy Torres Geoninatti | Produktionsleitung: Jan Lemitz | Produktion: Kristina Konrad, Weltfilm | Koproduktion: Angelika Levi, celestefilm | Farbe | DCP | 22 min | engl./span. OV mit engl. UT | Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V.

Ahorita Frames ist ein Porträt jener lateinamerikanischen Putzfrauen, die in den Trümmern von 9/11 im Auftrag eines Asbestentsorgers ohne Aufenthalts- oder Arbeitserlaubnis und ohne angemessene Staubschutzmasken ein Jahr lang Aufräumarbeit leisteten. Staub lag über allem und hing in der Luft, wie auch der Geruch von Verwesung: Unfassbares Grauen also, dem sich Angelika Levis Film jedoch über die Bande, fast spielerisch nähert, ohne irgendetwas zu verharmlosen. Ahorita Frames springt hin und her zwischen dokumentarischen Aufnahmen von New York und Reenactments, die Levi mit Migrant*innen auf der anderen Seite der mexikanischen Grenze inszeniert hat. Darin stellen sie Anekdoten aus dem Leben der Putzfrauen nach, die von diesen selbst aus dem Off nacherzählt werden. Eine der Frauen imaginiert sich als Figur in einer Seifenoper, um das Erlebte zu bewältigen, andere flüchten sich in Galgenhumor. Besonders eindrücklich die Szene, als die illegalen Dienstleisterinnen an der Seite anderer „first responders“ geehrt und auf einem Bankett hofiert werden. (Ob die Putzfrauen Anspruch auf den Victim Compensation Fund erheben konnten, der 2019 mit fast zwanzigjähriger Verspätung verabschiedet wurde?) Die zweigleisige Struktur des Films zwischen New York und der mexikanischen Grenze stellt die wechselseitige Bezüglichkeit dieser beiden Orte, die im Akt der Abschiebung abgeschafft wird, wieder her und schlägt zugleich, wie der Titel des Films nahelegt, eine andere, transnationale Rahmung für die Ereignisse und das Nachspiel des 11. September vor. (Nikolaus Perneczky, Perlentaucher. Das Kulturmagazin)

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit Angelika Levi


FR, 26.11.21

10.30

Pupille – Kino in der Uni

Tickets