USA 1931 | Director: Dorothy Arzner | Script: Zoë Akins, based on „Blind Mice“ by Vera Caspary, Winifred Lenihan | Camera: Harry Fischbeck | Editor: Jane Loring | Music: Ralph Rainger | Cast: Judith Wood, Charles „Buddy“ Rogers, Paul Lukas, Stuart Erwin, Frances Dee | Production: Paramount Pictures | b/w | 35mm preservation print courtesy of the UCLA Film & Television Archive | 77 min | amer. OV | UCLA / Park Circus

Working Girls tells the tale of two sisters, May and June Thorpe, who come to New York City from Rockville, Indiana, determined to make careers for themselves as “working girls”. The ambiguity of the film’s title is never addressed directly in the film. But the double meaning of “working girl,” in its innocent literal sense and in its acquired sense that women who worked outside the home were morally suspect (eventually the term “working girl” became a code for “prostitute”), is evident throughout. The two sister must learn, simultaneously, the sexual politics of both work and romance. May and June move into the Rolfe House, a boardinghouse for single, working girls like themselves, i.e. women from rather poor backgrounds who have few available funds. The sisters go to work: they get jobs and boyfriends. As in all Arzner’s films featuring communities of women, strong bonds exist among the women who share the living quarters. Yet Arzner gently parodies such institutions. (Judith Mayne, 1994)

Introduction by Madeleine Bernstorff


GB 1963 | Director: Joan Littlewood | Camera: Walter Lassally | b/w | DCP of 16mm | 3 min | silent | British Film Institute / The Estate of Joan Littlewood

Dusty car race around a curve; couples watch happily or tensely, holding their betting slips tightly. Children grasp their candy... One man's escort has left her high heels behind; he sticks his tongue out at the camera.


FR, 26.11.21

22.00

Pupille – Kino in der Uni

Tickets

USA 1931 | Regie: Dorothy Arzner | Buch: Zoë Akins, nach „Blind Mice“ von Vera Caspary, Winifred Lenihan | Kamera: Harry Fischbeck | Schnitt: Jane Loring | Musik: Ralph Rainger | Darsteller*innen: Judith Wood, Charles „Buddy“ Rogers, Paul Lukas, Stuart Erwin, Frances Dee | Produktion: Paramount Pictures | s/w | 35mm preservation print courtesy of the UCLA Film & Television Archive | 77 min | amer. OV | UCLA / Park Circus

Working Girls erzählt die Geschichte zweier Schwestern, May und June Thorpe, die aus Rockville, Indiana, nach New York City kommen, mit dem klaren Ziel als „working girls“ [dt.: arbeitende Mädchen] Karriere zu machen. Die Zweideutigkeit des Filmtitels wird im Film nie direkt thematisiert. Aber die Doppeldeutigkeit des Begiffs „working girl“ ist die ganze Zeit offensichtlich: Im unschuldigen wörtlichen Sinn als arbeitendes Mädchen und in seiner späteren Bedeutungsebene, die besagt, dass Frauen, die außerhalb des eigenen Haushalts arbeiten [„anschaffen“, anm. d. Übers.] moralisch verdächtig waren (so dass der Ausdruck „working girl“ schließlich Synonym für „Prostitutierte“ wurde). Die beiden Schwestern müssen gleichzeitig die sexuelle Politik in Arbeit und Beziehung erlernen. May und June ziehen ins Rolfe House, ein Wohnheim für alleinstehende, arbeitende Mädchen wie sie es sind, d.h. Frauen aus ärmlichen Verhältnissen mit nur wenigen Ressourcen. Die Schwestern gehen zur Arbeit: Sie finden eine Anstellung und einen festen Freund. Wie in allen Filmen von Arzner, in denen Frauengemeinschaften eine Rolle spielen, gibt es starke Bande zwischen den Frauen im Wohnheim. Und gleichzeitig parodiert Arzner solche Institutionen auf eine warme Art. (Judith Mayne, 1994)

Einführung Madeleine Bernstorff


GB 1963 | Regie: Joan Littlewood | Kamera: Walter Lassally | s/w | DCP von 16mm | stumm | 3 min | British Film Institute / The Estate of Joan Littlewood

Staubiges Autorennen um die Kurve, Paare schauen vergnügt oder angespannt, halten an ihren Wettpapieren fest; Kinder an ihren Candys... Die Begleitung eines Mannes hat nur ihre Stöckelschuhe dagelassen, er streckt seine Zunge in die Kamera.


FR, 26.11.21

22.00

Pupille – Kino in der Uni

Tickets