© Totem Films

FR 2020 | Director, Script: Aude Pépin | Camera: Sarah Blum, Emmanuel Gras | Editor: Carole Le Page | Sound: Claire-Anne Largeron | Music: Benjamin Dupont | Production: Jean-Baptiste Germain, Bootstrap Label, Mathieu Robinet, Tandem | Colour | DCP | 71 min | french OV with english SUB | Totem Films

Chantal Birman was not just a feminist activist from the very start; she is still a dedicated care worker today. Now nearly 70, the extraordinarily empathetic midwife visits mothers of various social backgrounds day and night, tending to their equally varied post-natal needs and emotions. When pigeon droppings get stick under the wheels of the heavy silver suitcase that she manoeuvres across courtyards and up steep stairways, she occasionally runs out of patience: she then takes time to register a complaint with the building management about the inacceptable hygiene conditions.

She herself once had a painful experience with an unwanted pregnancy: after asking a young doctor for an abortion during her working hours, she had to clean up her own pool of blood in order to help another woman with her birth. Today, she says she would defend women’s right to an abortion with her life. She spares no advice in her conversations with a midwife in training who accompanies her to her daily work. A generational conflict arises between the women, but Chantal does not stubbornly insist on her point of view. She emphasises that she still learns from exchanging ideas.

This observational documentary by Aude Pépin is not merely a portrait of an impressive fighter; it provides deep insight and a sharp analysis of an aspect of human existence – birth – that has been handed over to modern medicine, with its current tendency towards regulation and rationalisation. Birman’s care work is dedicated to the women who are confronted with fear, physical pain, psychological stress and their private situations. In their isolation, they can all count on her.

Followed by a conversation with the director Aude Pépin and the medical historian Barbara Duden


MI, 24.11.21

13.30

Pupille – Kino in der Uni

Tickets

© Totem Films

FR 2020 | Regie, Buch: Aude Pépin | Kamera: Sarah Blum, Emmanuel Gras | Schnitt: Carole Le Page | Ton: Claire-Anne Largeron | Musik: Benjamin Dupont | Produktion: Jean-Baptiste Germain, Bootstrap Label, Mathieu Robinet, Tandem | Farbe | DCP | 71 min | franz. OV mit engl. UT | Totem Films

Chantal Birman ist nicht nur feministische Aktivistin der ersten Stunde. Bis heute ist sie als engagierte Care-Workerin im Einsatz. Obwohl fast 70, besucht die Hebamme tagein, tagaus Mütter mit den unterschiedlichsten sozialen Hintergründen, und begegnet äußerst empathisch ihren – ebenso verschiedenen – Postschwangerschaftsbedürfnissen und -emotionen. Wenn ihr Taubenkot unter die Räder ihres schweren, silbernen Koffers kommt, den sie über Höfe zieht und steile Treppen hochwuchtet, platzt ihr schon mal der Kragen. Dann nimmt sie sich die Zeit, bei der betreffenden Hausverwaltung sofort eine Beschwerde über inakzeptable Hygienebedingungen einzulegen.

Sie selbst hatte einst eine schmerzliche Erfahrung machen müssen als sie ungewollt schwanger war: Sie bat einen jungen Arzt während ihrer Arbeitszeit um eine Abtreibung. Die Blutlache musste sie nach dem Eingriff selbst wegputzen, um im Anschluss einer anderen Frau bei der Geburt zu helfen. Das Recht auf Abtreibung würde sie mit ihrem Leben verteidigen, sagt sie heute. Mit Ratschlägen spart sie nicht gegenüber einer Hebammenschülerin, die sie in ihrem Arbeitsalltag begleitet. Zwischen den Frauen tut sich ein Generationskonflikt auf, aber Chantal beharrt nicht stur auf ihrem Standpunkt. Auch sie lernt durch den Austausch – heute noch, betont sie.

Der beobachtende Dokumentarfilm von Aude Pépin ist nicht bloß das Porträt einer beeindruckenden Kämpferin – er bietet auch scharfe Analysen eines Aspekts menschlichen Lebens, der in unserer Gegenwart der modernen Medizin mit ihrer Tendenz zur Regulierung und Rationalisierung überantwortet ist: die Geburt. Birmans Sorge-Arbeit gilt den Frauen, die mit Angstzuständen, körperlichen Schmerzen, psychischen Anstrengungen und ihren jeweiligen privaten Verhältnissen konfrontiert sind, aber in ihrer Vereinzelung auf sie zählen können.

Im Anschluss Gespräch mit der Regisseurin und der Medizinhistorikerin Barbara Duden


MI, 24.11.21

13.30

Pupille – Kino in der Uni

Tickets