IT 1965 | Director: Cecilia Mangini | Script: Felice Chilanti | Camera: Luciano Graffigna | Editor: Marco Menenti | Music: Egisto Macchi | Production: Unitelefilm | Colour & b/w | DCP | 29 min | italian OV with english SUB | Fondazione Archivio Audiovisivo del Movimento Operaio e Democratico (AAMOD)

Mangini, in her work as well as her relationships, chose the side of the marginalised, whether they’d been placed there because of who they were or what they believed or because of the role they had been forced to occupy. She was interested in the position of women on the margins, particularly elderly and working-class women; through them she shows us the struggles of a country moving from a traditional society to a modern, individualist nation. Essere donne (1965), or Being Women, the film for which Magnini is perhaps best known, illustrates this well. In it, Mangini takes us through the difficult lives of women who worked in Italian factories and tobacco plants from Milan to Apulia during the years that were labelled latterly il boom economico: the “economic miracle”. She shows us families who have had to emigrate north from Southern Italy to find work. The film offers a reflection on the thousands who moved to Milan to work in chemical production, heavy machinery, or construction and to Turin to work for the likes of Fiat and Olivetti. (Allison Grimaldi Donahue, another-screen.com/cecilia-mangini)


Source: EZEF

PER 1981 | Director: María Barea | Script: Carmen Barrantes | Camera: Alejandro Legaspi | Music: Fernando Espinoza | Production: Ana Correa, Pierre Hoffmann, Faust Film München | Colour | 16mm | 30 min | dubbed german version | EZEF

„This film is also about work and bread and a roof over one's head; that is, about the most basic human needs. Rosa Duenas tells her story, which is at the same time the story of a settlement on the edge of Lima – 'El Planeta' to its residents – in which women join forces. Rosa Duenas and the other women represent a new type of Peruvian woman who no longer accepts her poverty as inevitable.“ (Frauenfilmhandbuch, Berlin 1983)

Two-thirds of Lima's population live in villages like "El Planeta". These settlements were formed of necessity due to the poverty of their residents. Rather than adapting to the precarious situation, in Maria Barea's film the residents demonstrate solidarity in diverse ways to combat social evils such as hunger, illness, illiteracy and a lack of canalisation and childcare. This film rekindles the viewer's awareness of the vital role of community and cohesiveness, and of people's aspiration and fight for a better country in solidarity.

This film, along with Al-Ahlam al-Mumkinna / Permissible Dreams by Ateyyat El Abnoudy  (Egypt 1983), is part of the seven-part series "As Women See It", distributed by the Evangelical Centre for Political and Developmental Film Work, EZEF.


Source: LCVA

GB 1976 | Director: London Women’s Film Group, Women’s Centre London | Editor: Pam Bosworth, Jenny Clevett | Music: Jean Watson, Joy Purnell, Boo Watson, Lorna Boschman | Production: Jane Oliver, Marcia Kirby, Power of Women Collective / Wages for Housework Campaign | Colour | DCP of VHS | 31 min | english OV | London Community Video Archive (LCVA)

A central theme of the autonomous women's movement of the 1970s was unpaid housework – mostly done by women – and the corresponding societal division of labour into spheres of (re-) production. A related problem was women's considerably worse pay for wage labour. In 1972, the international "Wages for Housework" campaign began, politicising housework and raising awareness of the historic dimension of this model for the division of labour.

The campaign film All Work And No Pay was produced in 1975, at the height of the movement, by the Power of Women Collective (London, Bristol); it was broadcast in 1976 on the BBC's Open Door programme. The London Women’s Film Group, a feminist collective, participated in the shoot. The film provides deep insight into the campaign: sharp analyses, political songs, women's group meetings, clever comments by passersby, the creation of international connections in the women's movement, etc. Multiple connections to our present day suggest themselves. It is characteristic of the film that „race, class and gender“ are examined, not least from an intersectional perspective.


MI, 24.11.21

10.30

Pupille – Kino in der Uni

Tickets

IT 1965 | Regie: Cecilia Mangini | Buch: Felice Chilanti | Kamera: Luciano Graffigna | Schnitt: Marco Menenti | Musik: Egisto Macchi | Produktion: Unitelefilm | Farbe u. s/w | DCP | 29 min | ital. OV mit engl. UT | Fondazione Archivio Audiovisivo del Movimento Operaio e Democratico (AAMOD)

Mangini wählte in ihrer Arbeit und in ihren Beziehungen die Seite der marginalisierten Menschen, ganz gleich, ob sie diesen Platz wegen ihrer Identität, ihrer Religion oder der Rolle, die sie gezwungenermaßen spielen mussten, innehatten. Sie interessierte sich für die Frauen am Rande der Gesellschaft, besonders für ältere Frauen und Arbeiterinnen – durch sie zeigt sie uns die Kämpfe eines Landes, das sich von einer traditionellen Gesellschaft zu einer modernen, individualistischen Nation entwickelt. Essere donne (1965), oder Being Women, der Film, durch den Mangini vielleicht am meisten Bekanntheit erlangte, trifft dies sehr gut. Hier nimmt uns Mangini von Mailand bis Apulien mit in die schwierigen Leben von Frauen, die in italienischen Fabriken und auf Tabakplantagen zu einer Zeit arbeiteten, die neuerdings als il boom economico – die „Wirtschaftswunderjahre“ – betitelt werden. Sie zeigt uns Familien, die aus Süditalien in den Norden migrieren mussten, um Arbeit zu finden. Der Film stimmt nachdenklich über die Tausenden, die nach Mailand zogen, um in Chemiebetrieben, der Schwerindustrie oder auf dem Bau zu arbeiten, und die, die nach Turin kamen, um für Firmen wie Fiat und Olivetti zu arbeiten. (Allison Grimaldi Donahue, another-screen.com/cecilia-mangini)


Quelle: EZEF

PER 1981 | Regie: María Barea | Buch: Carmen Barrantes | Kamera: Alejandro Legaspi | Musik: Fernando Espinoza | Produktion: Ana Correa, Pierre Hoffmann, Faust Film München | Farbe | 16mm | 30 min | DF | EZEF

„Auch in diesem Film geht es um Arbeit und Brot und ein Dach über dem Kopf, um elementarste Grundbedürfnisse des Menschen also. Rosa Duenas erzählt ihre Geschichte. Es ist zugleich die Geschichte einer Siedlung am Rande von Lima, von den Bewohnern ‚El Planeta‘ genannt, in der die Frauen sich zusammentun. Rosa Duenas und die anderen Frauen stehen für einen neuen Typ der peruanischen Frau, die ihre Armut nicht mehr als schicksalhaft hinnimmt.“ (Frauenfilmhandbuch, Berlin 1983)

Zwei Drittel der Bevölkerung Limas lebt in Dörfern wie „El Planeta“: Ansiedlungen, die aufgrund der Armut von den Anwohner*innen notgedrungen geformt wurden. Anstatt sich der prekären Situation zu fügen, zeigen sich die Bewohner*innen im Film von María Barea auf diverse Weise solidarisch, um Missständen wie Hunger, Krankheiten, Analphabetentum und fehlender Kanalisation oder dem Mangel an Kindertagesstätten entgegenzuwirken. Die wichtige Rolle einer Gemeinschaft und des Zusammenhalts, wie auch der Wunsch und der Kampf um ein besseres und solidarisches Land, werden hier noch einmal ins Bewusstsein gerückt.

Der Film ist mit Al-Ahlam al-Mumkinna / Träume in Reichweite von Ateyyat El Abnoudy (Ägypten 1983) Teil der 7-teiligen Reihe „As Women See It“, im Verleih des EZEF.


Quelle: LCVA

GB 1976 | Regie: London Women’s Film Group, Women’s Centre London | Schnitt: Pam Bosworth, Jenny Clevett | Musik: Jean Watson, Joy Purnell, Boo Watson, Lorna Boschman | Produktion: Jane Oliver, Marcia Kirby, Power of Women Collective / Wages for Housework Campaign | Farbe | DCP von VHS | 31 min | engl. OV | London Community Video Archive (LCVA)

Ein zentrales Thema der autonomen Frauenbewegung der 1970er-Jahre war die unbezahlte Hausarbeit – überwiegend von Frauen geleistet – und die damit zusammenhängende gesellschaftliche Arbeitsteilung in die (Re-)Produktions-Sphären. Die deutlich schlechtere Bezahlung von Frauen im Lohnarbeitssektor wurde dabei stets mitproblematisiert. 1972 startete die internationale Kampagne „Wages for Housework“, die in der BRD den Kampagnen-Titel „Lohn für Hausarbeit“ trug. Sie sorgte für eine Politisierung der Hausarbeit und machte die geschichtliche Dimension dieses Arbeitsteilungsmodells bewusst.

Der Kampagnen-Film All Work And No Pay wurde 1975 – auf dem Höhepunkt der Bewegung – vom Power of Women Collective (London, Bristol) produziert und 1976 im BBC-Programm Open Door ausgestrahlt. Das feministische Filmkollektiv London Women’s Film Group war am Dreh beteiligt. Der Film gibt einen tiefen Einblick in diese Kampagne: scharfe Analysen, politische Lieder, Frauen-Gruppentreffen, gewitzte Passantinnen-O-Töne, Herstellung internationaler Zusammenhänge innerhalb der Frauenbewegung etc. Vielfache Bezüge zu unserer Gegenwart drängen sich auf. Dabei zeichnet den Film aus, dass nicht zuletzt in intersektionaler Perspektive „race, class and gender“ in den Blick genommen werden.


MI, 24.11.21

10.30

Pupille – Kino in der Uni

Tickets