© Ingemo Engström

BRD 1975 | Director, Script: Ingemo Engström | Camera: Axel Block | Editor: Gerhard Theuring | Sound: Andreas Köbner | Production Manager: Tilman Taube | Music: Johann Sebastian Bach | Cast: Elisabeth Kreuzer, Hartmut Bitomsky, Harun Farocki, Muriel Theuring, Monique Armand, Despina Papaioannu, Inge Flimm, Marie Bardischewski | Production: Ingemo Engström, Gerhard Theuring, Theuring-Engström-Filmproduktion (München) | Colour | DCP of 16mm | 135 min | german OV | Stiftung Deutsche Kinemathek

Kampf um ein Kind („The Struggle for a Child“) examines the work and life situation of women who take on an additional job, namely that of having and raising a child. The film poses the question of how it might be possible to have a child without becoming unbearably dependent and without giving up one's work or having to entirely forego working in advance – because a woman's relationship to work is important to her existence (not just financially, as a means of survival, but as a purpose in life and a form of self-realisation). The film also asks how she might have a child without being relegated to a seemingly private sphere, and how these interests that are vital to women can be reconciled with the needs of a child. The film is also meant to show and to make tangible how the current convention of isolating the mother with her child also fails to meet the requirements of the child and the man. 

Kampf um ein Kind is told from the perspective of a person in the film. Maria Mandelstam, a young doctor, paces through a pivotal chapter of her life, a time of growing awareness. The film begins with a separation and continues with an alien situation which she experiences tentatively. Maria takes her small child to southern Germany where she works in a large women's clinic. She discovers her field of work to be a hot spot where women's societal experiences are reproduced to a certain degree: their situation is one of subjugation. (Ingemo Engström)


GB 1963 | Director: Joan Littlewood | Camera: Walter Lassally | b/w | silent | 3 min | DCP of 16mm | British Film Institute / The Estate of Joan Littlewood

Children play in a working-class neighbourhood in London. Sometimes the girls are by themselves; sometimes the boys are. Once, one of them plays alone with his ball in the huge inner courtyard. But the most exciting game seems to be the one they all play with the camera.


Followed by a conversation with the director Ingemo Engström and the medical historian Barbara Duden


MI, 24.11.21

16.00

Pupille – Kino in der Uni

Tickets

© Ingemo Engström

BRD 1975 | Regie, Buch: Ingemo Engström | Kamera: Axel Block | Schnitt: Gerhard Theuring | Ton: Andreas Köbner | Aufnahmeleitung: Tilman Taube | Musik: Johann Sebastian Bach | Darsteller*innen: Elisabeth Kreuzer, Hartmut Bitomsky, Harun Farocki, Muriel Theuring, Monique Armand, Despina Papaioannu, Inge Flimm, Marie Bardischewski | Produktion: Ingemo Engström, Gerhard Theuring, Theuring-Engström-Filmproduktion (München) | Farbe | DCP von 16mm | 135 min | dt. OV | Stiftung Deutsche Kinemathek

Kampf um ein Kind soll die Arbeits- und Lebenssituation derjenigen Frauen untersuchen, die eine zusätzliche Arbeit auf sich nehmen, nämlich die Arbeit, ein Kind zu bekommen und es zu erziehen. Es wird die Frage gestellt, wie es möglich sein könnte, ein Kind zu bekommen, ohne dadurch in unerträgliche Abhängigkeit zu geraten; ohne dadurch die Arbeit aufzugeben oder von vornherein darauf verzichten zu müssen, weil die Beziehung zu einer Arbeit für die Existenz einer Frau (nicht nur finanziell, als Lebensmittel, sondern auch als Lebensinhalt und als eine Form der Selbstverwirklichung) wichtig ist; ohne verbannt zu werden in eine scheinbar private Sphäre; und wie diese lebensnotwendigen Interessen der Frau zu vereinbaren sind mit den Anforderungen eines Kindes. Der Film soll auch zeigen und sinnlich evident machen, wie die gegenwärtige Form der Isolierung der Mutter mit ihrem Kind auch den Ansprüchen des Kindes und des Mannes nicht genügt. 

Kampf um ein Kind ist ein Film, der erzählt wird aus der Perspektive einer Person, die den Film trägt. Maria Mandelstam, eine junge Ärztin, durchschreitet einen entscheidenden Abschnitt ihres Lebens: die Zeit der Bewusstwerdung. Der Film beginnt mit einer Trennung und – in der Folge – mit einer Situation, die fremd ist und tastend erfahren wird. Maria geht mit ihrem kleinen Kind nach Süddeutschland und arbeitet dort in einer großen Frauenklinik. Sie entdeckt ihr Arbeitsgebiet als einen Ort, an dem gesellschaftliche Erfahrungen über die Situation der Frau gewissermaßen wie in einem Brennpunkt sich abbildet: in der Situation des Ausgeliefertseins. (Ingemo Engström)


GB 1963 | Regie: Joan Littlewood | Kamera: Walter Lassally | s/w | DCP von 16mm | stumm | 3 min | British Film Institute / The Estate of Joan Littlewood

Kinder spielen in einem Londoner Arbeiterviertel: Mal sind Mädchen ganz unter sich, mal Jungs, und einmal ist einer ganz alleine mit seinem Ball im riesigen Innenhof. Das spannendste gemeinsame Spiel scheint aber das mit der Kamera zu sein.


Im Anschluss Gespräch mit der Regisseurin Ingemo Engström und der Medizinhistorikerin Barbara Duden


MI, 24.11.21

16.00

Pupille – Kino in der Uni

Tickets