Olivia

© films du jeudi

FR 1950, D Jacqueline Audry, SC Colette Audry based on the novel Olivia by Dorothy Bussy, C Christian Matras, E Marguerite Beaugé, M Pierre Sancan, S Jo de Bretagne, P Jacqueline Audry, Jean Paris, Memnon Films, Cast Edwige Feuillère, Simone Simon, Marie-Claire Olivia, Yvonne deBray, Suzanne Dehelly, Print b/w, DCP from 35mm, 95 min, french. OV +engl. SUB, Les Films du Jeudi

A boarding school for young women in France: rectors Julie and Cara, apparently lovers, are engaged in friendly competition for their students’ favour. When the young English student Olivia is sent to live at the facility and subsequently falls in love with Julie, the flirtatious game escalates.

„If lesbians can be considered, of necessity, as well as by choice, the most independent of women, then Olivia is the film that demonstrates most strongly Audry’s preoccupation with women and their search for self-realisation. She is content to observe rather than to condone or criticise, though she is evidently sympathetic to the problems her characters face.   The women who appear in this film are, for her, simply another part of society, albeit one which had usually been ignored, and one which has its own problems and rewards.“ (Elaine Burrows, Festival Publication Views of History, 2019)


FRI 29.11.19

14.00

Pupille – Kino in der Uni

Olivia

© films du jeudi

FR 1950, R Jacqueline Audry, B Colette Audry nach dem Roman Olivia von Dorothy Bussy, K Christian Matras, S Marguerite Beaugé, M Pierre Sancan, T Jo de Bretagne, P Jacqueline Audry, Jean Paris, Memnon Films, D Edwige Feuillère, Simone Simon, Marie-Claire Olivia, Yvonne deBray, Suzanne Dehelly, Kopie s/w, DCP von 35mm, 95 min, franz. OV +engl. UT, Les Films du Jeudi

Ein Mädcheninternat in Frankreich: Die Rektorinnen Julie und Cara, augenscheinlich ein Liebespaar, stehen im freundschaftlichen Wettstreit um die Gunst ihrer Schülerinnen. Als die junge Engländerin Olivia ins Internat geschickt wird und sich in Julie verliebt, spitzt sich das kokette Spiel zu.

„Wenn Lesbierinnen – gezwungenermaßen, aber auch aus freier Wahl – die unabhängigsten Frauen sind, dann ist Olivia der Film, in dem sich Audry am klarsten mit Frauen und ihrer Suche nach Selbstverwirklichung auseinandersetzt. Sie beobachtet lieber, als dass sie verzeiht oder kritisiert – und doch fühlt sie offen mit angesichts der Probleme ihrer Figuren. Die Frauen in diesem Film sind für sie ganz einfach ein Teil der Gesellschaft – wenn auch einer, der gewöhnlich ignoriert wird –, der seine eigenen Probleme und Freuden hat.“ (Elaine Burrows, Festivalpublikation Geschichtsanschauungen. Views of History, 2019)


FR 29.11.19

14.00

Pupille – Kino in der Uni