The Child Thou Gavest Me

Source: Library of Congress © Warner Bros.

US 1921, D John M. Stahl, SC Chester L. Roberts based on a story by Perry N. Vekroff, C Ernest G. Palmer, E Madge Tyrone, P John M. Stahl Productions, Cast Barbara Castleton, Adele Farrington, Winter Hall, Lewis Stone, William Desmond, Richard Headrick, Mary Forbes, Helen Howard, Mayre Hall, Ruby McCoy, Print b/w, 35mm, 72 min, silent, engl. INT, Library of Congress/Warner Bros.

The Child Thou Gavest Me is based on a story by Perry N. Vekroff, who, like director John M. Stahl, was an Eastern European immigrant working in Hollywood’s film industry. The film begins with a wedding, though, alas, no honeymoon is to follow. Before the ceremony can come to a close, the bride’s illegitimate child shows up unexpectedly. The marriage is maintained for outside appearances, but the husband’s jealousy and murderous cravings threaten to bring the construction tumbling to the ground. Resolution comes with the return of the past.

„[But] the skilled melodrama, deploying all the resources of cinematography and editing, disguises such improbabilities and narrative lacunae through the drive and necessities of its emotional forces. In The Child Thou Gavest Me we see melodrama’s capacity to engineer the concatenation of familiar character types, discursive tropes and dramatic incidents through the forces of coincidences, crossed paths, blocked knowledge and misrecognition, in order to generate confrontations that bring past into the present as a means of pointing towards a possible refigured future.“ (Christine Gledhill, Festival Publication Views of History, 2019)

Accompanied on the piano by Maud Nelissen


SO 1.12.19

14.00

Pupille – Kino in der Uni

The Child Thou Gavest Me

Quelle: Library of Congress © Warner Bros.

US 1921, R John M. Stahl, B Chester L. Roberts nach einer Geschichte von Perry N. Vekroff, K Ernest G. Palmer, S Madge Tyrone, P John M. Stahl Productions, D Barbara Castleton, Adele Farrington, Winter Hall, Lewis Stone, William Desmond, Richard Headrick, Mary Forbes, Helen Howard, Mayre Hall, Ruby McCoy, Kopie s/w, 35mm, 72 min, stumm, engl. ZT, Library of Congress/Warner Bros.

The Child Thou Gavest Me basiert auf einer Story von Perry N. Vekroff, der wie Regisseur John M. Stahl ein osteuropäischer Immigrant in Hollywoods Filmindustrie war. Der Film beginnt mit einer Hochzeit, doch darauf folgt kein Honeymoon. Noch während der Zeremonie taucht unversehens das uneheliche Kind der Braut auf. Die Ehe wird nach außen hin aufrechterhalten, aber Eifersucht und Mordgelüste des Ehemanns drohen die Konstruktion zum Einsturz zu bringen. Die Auflösung kommt aus der Wiederkehr der Vergangenheit.

„[Doch] als raffiniertes Melodram verkleidet er, alle Ressourcen der Kinematographie und des Schnitts geschickt nutzend, die Unwahrscheinlichkeiten und erzählerischen Löcher durch Schwung und zwingende Emotionalität. The Child Thou Gavest Me ist ein Beispiel für die Fähigkeit des Melodrams, typische Charaktere, diskursive Wendungen und dramatische Vorfälle durch die Macht des Zufalls, einander überschneidende Linien, Wissensblockaden und falsche Wahrnehmung so zu verklammern, dass die Vergangenheit in die Gegenwart eingeholt wird, um eine veränderte Zukunft anzudeuten.“ (Christine Gledhill, Festivalpublikation Geschichtsanschauungen. Views of History, 2019)

Am Flügel begleitet von Maud Nelissen


SO 1.12.19

14.00

Pupille – Kino in der Uni